Emporia State University Reviews | GradReports (2023)

Mister Anonymous

  • Reviewed: 1/9/2022
  • Degree: Accounting
  • Graduation Year: 2021

"I'm a recent graduate of the online master's of accountancy program. I noticed several recent, poor reviews of ESU and thought I would chime in. I received a job offer from one of the Big 4 accounting firms as a result of my enrollment at ESU. I was recruited by one of their campus recruiters for an accounting job with a Big 4 firm, which is a highly desirable outcome for an accounting student. I paid less than $11,000 for the entire degree and I have the same salary and job as people who spent 3x plus on their degrees. ESU's business school is also AACSB accredited. I already had an accounting job before I enrolled in the master's program, but it was with a very small firm. There is no doubt I would not be working for a Big 4 firm had it not been for my degree from ESU."

TP

  • Reviewed: 2/26/2020
  • Degree: Business Administration
  • Graduation Year: 2021

"Stay away. Yes, there is an allure to their inexpensive online programs but they are only interested in getting your money. 1- Admissions process was a disaster. I had several calls and emails, jotted down the name of who I spoke to, was still given different answers or directions each time I spoke with them. Also enrollment and admissions are two different entities apparently. Enrollment appears to be more "sales" oriented, eager to get you moving and trying to accommodate, while admissions is completely indifferent, moves at their own pace and is uninterested in helping you. Also, admissions and enrollment do not communicate, so they have you bounce back and forth like a ping pong ball. 2- Would not tell me how much financial aid I qualified for until I committed to a semester and paid. Never come across this before. 3- Start date was pushed back despite assurances they had all my paperwork and were "working on admissions decision". 4- Many programs advertised as 12 months, but impossible to complete in that timeframe due to courses only being offered during select times of year. Degree path i was sent 18 months minimum going full-time due to this. All this for a small school that is relatively unknown....I ultimately decided on another university to pursue my grad program."

Log

  • Reviewed: 1/10/2020
  • Degree: Mathematics
  • Graduation Year: 2022

"Very poor experience so far. Instructors were not very experienced and seemed to blame the class for a lack of organization on their part. Instructors use poor text books that have incorrect logic and definitions included, yet if your deviate from the text to look up the correct definition, or even just use a definition that you have previously memorized, you may be accused of cheating. Any "out of the box" proofs were also suspected of cheating. My instructors have always told me my proofs were out of the box and it was something I was once proud of. In these classes I'm terrified that if my proofs are not normal I will be accused of cheating. The registration process is also, as another reviewer stated, a "disaster." I'm currently trying out another university but I may have to take more classes from Emporia. If I do and they are of a higher quality I will happily change my review."

(Video) 🏫 Emporia State University Worth it ? + Review!🎓

Desiree Sarona

  • Reviewed: 10/14/2019
  • Degree: Business
  • Graduation Year: 2017

"Online Instruction quality was average no better than any other school, and I was at least able to get a degree. Admissions to the online program is an absolute disaster. Enrollment will tell you whatever you want to hear to get you to fill out and pay for an application. Enrollment assured me I would be able to start the summer after high school graduation, but ended up processing my High School Transcript late and would not let me start. Even worse, I had NO COMMUNICATION on this until the day before classes started. Calls to the school were always met with "someone will call you back". I was only able to get a straight answer by emailing a different department. This set me back a whole semester in terms of my graduation date, and made it tough for me to finish in my desired time-frame. Additionally, certain classes are only offered in specific semesters, the courses I desired to start with were not available during that semester and I had to jump into much harder courses."

Anonymous

  • Reviewed: 9/1/2017
  • Degree: Psychology
  • Graduation Year: 2006

"I very much enjoyed my time at Emporia State. I appreciated the small class sizes and personal attention I recieved. My instructors and mentors shaped who I am today. I also appreciated the community of Emporia. When I was there, I felt that the college and the community members collaborated well. I have lived in several other communities in Kansas and Emporia is one of my favorite places."

Samantha Miller

  • Reviewed: 7/6/2017
  • Degree: Biology
  • Graduation Year: 2017

"I did not feel like just a number at Emporia State. I was able to build a relationship with my professors and classmates. The ratio of teachers to students is small and in this environment I was able to strive. I was able to ask questions frequently, get help every single day, and my teachers cared about me as a person. I was lost my first year and by being in Emporia I found my calling. Not only is the school amazing but the town is great once you make those connections. My experience at ESU was one I will remember my whole life."

Anonymous

  • Reviewed: 1/3/2017
  • Degree: Education
  • Graduation Year: 2012

"I enjoyed my time at ESU. It was a great program that prepared for my future."

(Video) Fired professor worried about Emporia State’s future

Jzn

  • Reviewed: 10/2/2016
  • Degree: Mathematics
  • Graduation Year: 2015

"I thought I knew Math until I started taking classes at ESU. The program is strong and it gave me a deep understanding of mathematics that has helped me in my job as a math teacher. The program is proofs heavy. At the beginning I was afraid but while developing proofs I learned all the ins and outs of every theorem I had been exposed to, during my undergraduate work. I only wish they offered a PHD degree."

Hornet

  • Reviewed: 5/31/2016
  • Degree: Health Education
  • Graduation Year: 2015

"Great college. Professors and staff who care about your success. You are a person to the professors, not just a paycheck."

Anonymous

  • Reviewed: 11/3/2015
  • Degree: Music
  • Graduation Year: 2011
(Video) Welcome to Emporia State University!

"I really enjoyed my time at ESU. I was able to be involved in many different clubs, groups, and attending sporting events was one of my favorite things! I met some of my best friends while working towards a degree I knew would benefit my future. I highly recommend pursuing higher education in order to better your options in the career field of your choice!"

Anonymous

  • Reviewed: 11/3/2015
  • Degree: Education
  • Graduation Year: 2015

"ESU was a great school to go to for education. The curriculum worked quite well in preparing me for the real world."

Chassidy

  • Reviewed: 4/23/2015
  • Degree: Communications
  • Graduation Year: 2007

"I really enjoyed my time at ESU. I double majored over a 5 year period, plus worked on campus, so I had a lot of campus experience. The faculty and staff in both departments were knowledgeable,helpful, insightful and personable. Upon graduation I have seen a few professors out in the community and even other communities and they were very friendly and genuinely interested in what I was up to! I have reached out to a few professors throughout the years for professional and graduate school references and they kindly obliged in timely manners. I say that to make the point that overall in my experience, I think the faculty at ESU really care about their work and the students they are teaching. They understand the role they play in making impactful differences in the lives of their students. ESU is also more affordable than many other schools in Kansas and Emporia is a very affordable community to live in. Safe town and campus. Easy to get around town and campus as well. Highly recommend."

Charles Roemer

(Video) Emporia State University Campus Tour 2021
  • Reviewed: 3/3/2014
  • Degree: Psychology
  • Graduation Year: 2015

"The program is comprehensive and challenging, but rewarding in the end. Many of the students are placed within their desired job market 6 months after graduation."

Charlotte Aingell

  • Reviewed: 5/4/2013
  • Degree: Library Science
  • Graduation Year: 2012

"The program encourages much interaction among the distance learning students."

Charlotte Aingell

  • Reviewed: 4/29/2013
  • Degree: Library Science
  • Graduation Year: 2014

"Pros - program encourages socialization between students. Cons -Weekend intensive classes"

Malia Beckstrand

(Video) [Orientation Vlog] 🐝🇺🇸 Emporia State University, Campus tour, getting vaccinated, meeting friends

  • Reviewed: 12/11/2012
  • Degree: Liberal Arts
  • Graduation Year: 2015

"I have not yet started the program, but I am looking forward to it. The advisers are readily available and I feel that I have made the correct choice in going to Emporia State."

FAQs

Is Emporia State University a good school? ›

Emporia State University's 2022-2023 Rankings

Emporia State University is ranked #75 out of 167 Regional Universities Midwest. Schools are ranked according to their performance across a set of widely accepted indicators of excellence.

What GPA do you need to get into Emporia? ›

Admissions requirements

New, First-Time Undergraduates: Graduate from an accredited high school AND achieve one of the following: cumulative high school (unweighted) GPA of 2.25 or above | ACT composite score of 21 or higher OR a new SAT composite score of 1060 or higher. GED students requirements.

Is Emporia State University an HBCU? ›

Emporia State University (Emporia State or ESU) is a public university in Emporia, Kansas, United States. Established in March 1863 as the Kansas State Normal School, Emporia State is the third-oldest public university in the state of Kansas.
...
Naming History.
YearsName
1977–presentEmporia State University (ESU)
4 more rows

Is Emporia State a Division 1 school? ›

Emporia State University is an NCAA Division II school that is a part of the Mid- America Intercollegiate Athletics Association (MIAA).

What is the #1 college in PA? ›

1. University of Pennsylvania. The University of Pennsylvania (Penn, or UPenn) is a private Ivy League research university in Philadelphia.

What is the #1 college in NJ? ›

Princeton University (Princeton, NJ)

This Ivy League tops the list of New Jersey schools for several reasons. It ranked first in its admission, graduation rate, and student-faculty ratio.

Is a 2.333 GPA good? ›

Is a 2.3 GPA Good? In a by-the-textbook definition, a 2.3 GPA is considered “below-average.” Even though it's considered a passing grade, a 2.3 GPA, or a C-grade average, isn't ideal for getting accepted into college.

What GPA do you need to get into Hopkins? ›

To have the best shot of getting in, you should aim for the 75th percentile, with a 1560 SAT or a 35 ACT. You should also have a 3.92 GPA or higher. If your GPA is lower than this, you need to compensate with a higher SAT/ACT score.

Does Emporia State have sorority? ›

The FSL community at Emporia State University is consists of eight national and international fraternities and sororities. They are dedicated to encouraging students to become contributing members of the campus and Emporia community.

What is the #1 HBCU in the country? ›

Best historically black colleges and universities in the United States 2022
HBCU Rank 2022US College Rank 2022University
1109Howard University
2126Spelman College
3383Xavier University of Louisiana
=4401-500Morehouse College
7 more rows

What are the 4 HBCU in Atlanta? ›

The Atlanta University Center (AUC) is a consortium of four Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU)—Clark Atlanta University, Morehouse College, Morehouse School of Medicine, and Spelman College.

What is the best HBCU school? ›

Top 10 HBCUs: 2023
  • Spelman College, private; 100 points. ...
  • Howard University, private; 87 points. ...
  • Tuskegee University, private; 82 points. ...
  • Morehouse College, private; 75 points. ...
  • Xavier University of Louisiana, private; 73 points. ...
  • Hampton University, private; 72 points.
12 Sept 2022

What happened at Emporia State University? ›

Emporia State University adopted a management framework by the Kansas Regents that allowed the school to fire tenured employees at its own discretion. Shortly after, ESU dismissed 33 faculty members.

Do freshmen have to live on campus Emporia State University? ›

On-Campus Housing

ESU requires all full-time, first-year students to live in the residence halls (freshmen and international students).

What is Emporia Kansas known for? ›

The city is now the trading and shipping centre of a large farming and dairying area and is the seat of Emporia State University (1863) and Flint Hills Technical College (1963). Attractions include a municipal zoo and the National Teachers Hall of Fame (1989). Chase and Lyon state fishing lakes are nearby.

What is the Ivy League school in PA? ›

About the University of Pennsylvania

Penn is one of eight private universities known as the Ivy League. There are over 21,000 students at Penn, including 4,500 international students. Over 4,700 faculty members teach at Penn.

Which PA state school is the best? ›

  • #1. University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus. Pittsburgh, PA. ...
  • #2. Temple University. ...
  • #3. Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania. ...
  • #4. West Chester University of Pennsylvania. ...
  • #5. Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology. ...
  • #6. Bucks County Community College. ...
  • #7. Butler County Community College. ...
  • #8. Montgomery County Community College.

Which PA school is the easiest to get into? ›

Easiest PA schools to get into
SchoolAcceptance RateGPA
Barry University85%3.0
Brenau University64.7%2.75
Butler University40%3.2
Clarkson University Department of Physician Assistant Studies72%3.0
25 more rows
22 Nov 2022

Where do most New Jersey kids go to College? ›

Colleges and universities that round out the list of top schools with the most New Jersey students include the University of Maryland, Towson (Maryland), University of Rhode Island, University of Scranton (Pennsylvania), James Madison (Virginia), Boston University (Massachusetts), University of Pittsburgh (Pennsylvania ...

What is Tier 1 US College? ›

Here are the best colleges in the U.S.
  • Princeton University.
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
  • Harvard University.
  • Stanford University.
  • Yale University.
  • University of Chicago.
  • Johns Hopkins University.
  • University of Pennsylvania.

Are there any Ivy League schools in NJ? ›

Value in New Jersey's Colleges and Universities

New Jersey has two Colonial Colleges founded before the American Revolution – the Ivy League Princeton University, and the Public Ivy, Rutgers University – and both have demonstrated a commitment to affordable education.

How can I raise my GPA? ›

How To Improve Your GPA?
  1. Attend Classes Regularly. As obvious as this sounds, it's a very important step. ...
  2. Avoid Classes You Don't Need. ...
  3. Reach Out to Your Instructors. ...
  4. Turn in Assignments on Time. ...
  5. Join a Study Group. ...
  6. Do a Weekly Study Review. ...
  7. Set Goals for Yourself. ...
  8. Make Use of Educational Resources.
14 Nov 2021

What is a C+ on a 4.0 scale? ›

A C+ letter grade is equivalent to a 2.3 GPA, or Grade Point Average, on a 4.0 GPA scale, and a percentage grade of 77–79.

What GPA is need for Harvard? ›

Most students admitted to Harvard have an unweighted GPA of 4.18 or above, so you'll need to have at least a 4.2 to be seriously evaluated. To meet the Harvard requirements, you'll have to score primarily A's on your high school courses.

What GPA does Harvard require? ›

It is tough to get into Harvard. The university receives applications from more qualified applicants than they can accept, and most applicants have at least a 4.18GPA. Meeting GPA and SAT/ACT requirements (although these are now optional) will help you get through the first round of filters.

What GPA does Ivy League require? ›

According to a series of self-reported surveys done by students that use US News, during the application for Fall 2020, more than half of the students admitted to Ivy League schools had a 4.0 GPA. The number of acceptances drastically decreases once you go lower than 3.7, although still a handful can be seen.

Is Emporia a good city? ›

Emporia is in Lyon County and is one of the best places to live in Kansas. Living in Emporia offers residents a dense suburban feel and most residents rent their homes. In Emporia there are a lot of bars, coffee shops, and parks.

Is the Emporia Zoo free? ›

Admission is free. The David Traylor Zoo is one of the smallest accredited zoos in the nation. The zoo contains nearly 400 specimens of birds, mammals and reptiles representing more than 80 species are exhibited in natural habitats.

What is the biggest frat at Penn State? ›

The other fraternity was the Pi Kappa Alpha house, with 117 active members, which makes it the largest fraternity at Penn State.
...
Phi Kappa Psi.
←Move left
→Move right
↑Move up
↓Move down
+Zoom in
1 more row
13 Oct 2017

What HBCU is 90% white? ›

It opened in the late 19th century as the Bluefield Colored Institute, created to educate the children of black coal miners in segregated West Virginia. Although it still receives the federal funding that comes with its designation as a historically black institution, today Bluefield State College is 90 percent white.

What HBCU is called the black Harvard? ›

Howard University is known as the Harvard of HBCUs. It has the most selective admissions standards of any HBCU and the highest endowment, valued at nearly $800 million as of 2021. It also has the highest graduation rate of all coed HBCUs.

What is the richest HBCU in America? ›

As mentioned before, Howard University has the largest endowment of any HBCU. It is followed closely by Spelman University in Atlanta, Hampton University in Hampton, Virginia, Morehouse University, which is also in Atlanta and the Meharry Medical College in Nashville.

What is the largest black HBCU? ›

North Carolina A&T, the largest HBCU, is growing, still - The Washington Post.

What is the cheapest HBCU in Georgia? ›

If you're looking for an affordable HBCU in Georgia, check out Paine College. Paine is an affordable HBCU that is a church-related liberal arts institution providing quality education. Students can pursue one of two degrees: a Bachelor of Arts or a Bachelor of Science.

What HBCU is an Ivy League? ›

The North Star News described Fisk, Hampton, Howard, Morehouse, Tuskegee as well as Cheyney University of Pennsylvania and Morgan State University as the equivalent of a Black Ivy League. Lincoln University has also been mentioned as being included in the group.

Which HBCU has the nicest dorms? ›

The Historically Black College and University (HBCU) with the best dorms is Fort Valley State University located in Fort Valley, Georgia. Founded in 1895, Fort Valley State University is a public institution with a strong history of the education of black Americans.

What is the hardest Black College to get into? ›

Howard University is the hardest HBCU to get into, with an acceptance rate of just 39%.
...
  • Langston University.
  • Miles College.
  • ALSO READ: Top HBCUs With no Application Fee.
  • Morris College.
  • Virginia State University.
  • Bluefield State College.
  • Lincoln University of Pennsylvania.
  • Jackson State University.
22 Jul 2022

What is the easiest HBCU to get into? ›

The easiest HBCU to get into are:
  • Albany State University with 91% rate of acceptance.
  • Clark Atlanta University with 71% rate of acceptance.
  • Fort Valley State University with 61% rate of acceptance, and.
  • Morehouse College with 58% rate of acceptance.

Is Emporia State University regionally accredited? ›

Emporia State University Is Regionally Accredited

Attending a regionally accredited institution is important if you may want to transfer credits to another institution or if you want to attend a post-graduate program.

What sororities are at Emporia State University? ›

Sorority Life
  • Panhellenic Association. Panhellenic Association is a community of involved women striving to maintain positive relationships between fraternal chapters by working together. ...
  • Alpha Sigma Alpha. ...
  • Chi Omega. ...
  • Sigma Sigma Sigma.

How many professors are at Emporia State University? ›

Instructional Staff at the College
TotalFull Time
Total of Instructional Employees274237
Total of Those With Faculty Status270237
Tenured Faculty131122
On Tenure Track7574
3 more rows

Can freshman live in Lobo village? ›

Lobo Village is an apartment style student residential property located on the UNM south campus. Lobo Village does not automatically satisfy the UNM Freshman Residency Requirement. Freshmen may submit a request for an exception to that requirement, based upon individual circumstances.

Is Emporia Kansas a college town? ›

Emporia is also a college town, home to Emporia State University and Flint Hills Technical College. It is home of two annual sporting events: Unbound Gravel (gravel bicycle races) and Dynamic Discs Open (disc golf tournaments).

Are guests allowed in northeastern dorms? ›

Guests are not allowed. Only campus residents may sign themselves in and out.

What is the crime rate in Emporia Kansas? ›

113.37 per 100,000 population

What is the cost of living in Emporia Kansas? ›

The median after-tax salary is $3697, which is enough to cover living expenses for 3.2 months.
...
Cost of Living in Emporia, KS.
Cost of livingOne personFamily of 4
💰 Total with rent$1168$4206
🛋️ Without rent$690$2099
🏨 Rent & Utilities$478$2107
🍽️ Food$521$1348
4 more rows

Is Emporia Kansas rural or urban? ›

Population in 2019: 24,598 (100% urban, 0% rural).
...
Emporia, Kansas.
Emporia:$95,513
KS:$163,200

What is the best State college in PA? ›

Here are the best colleges in Pennsylvania
  • Carnegie Mellon University.
  • Lehigh University.
  • Villanova University.
  • University of Pittsburgh.
  • The Pennsylvania State University.
  • Drexel University.
  • Temple University.
  • Thomas Jefferson University.

What is the most prestigious college in New Jersey? ›

Princeton University is once again No. 1 on U.S. News & World Report's Best National Universities list, one of 10 New Jersey institutions that are ranked among the Top 200 for the 2022-2023 academic year. This is the 12th consecutive year that Princeton took the No.

What is the best high school in the state of New Jersey? ›

High Technology High School is New Jersey's highest-ranking public institution, holding ninth place on Niche's list of the nation's top public high schools. Two other Garden State schools occupy the top 20: The Academy for Mathematics, Science & Engineering (11th) and Bergen County Academies (15th).

What is the best State college in NJ? ›

Here are the best colleges in New Jersey
  • Rutgers University--New Brunswick.
  • Stevens Institute of Technology.
  • New Jersey Institute of Technology.
  • Rutgers University--Newark.
  • Rutgers University--Camden.
  • Seton Hall University.
  • Montclair State University.
  • Stockton University.

What is the easiest PA school to get into? ›

Our List of Easiest PA Schools to Get Into
  • Missouri State University PA School. ...
  • Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science. ...
  • Springfield College. ...
  • The George Washington University Physician Assistant School. ...
  • University of La Verne. ...
  • University of New England Physician Assistant School. ...
  • University of Utah.

What county in PA has the best schools? ›

Bucks County

#1 Counties with the Best Public Schools in Pennsylvania.

What is the #1 community college in the US? ›

Best Community Colleges in the U.S.
Overall RankCommunity CollegeTotal Score
1State Technical College of Missouri71.02
2Northwest Iowa Community College68.4
3Alexandria Technical & Community College67.23
4Manhattan Area Technical College67
26 more rows
16 Aug 2022

Which towns in NJ have the best schools? ›

Top School Districts in New Jersey, 2020
RankSchool DistrictCity
1Ridgewood Public School DistrictRidgewood
2Livingston Board Of Education School DistrictLivingston
3Millburn Township School DistrictMillburn
4Westfield Public School DistrictWestfield
46 more rows

What is the safest school in New Jersey? ›

Pompton Lakes schools ranked safest in NJ, fourth safest in US.

What is the number 1 public high school in America? ›

Niche, a site that combines ratings from students, parents and alumni with quantitative data, just released its high school rankings for 2023 and found that the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics to be the best in the nation.

What college has the happiest students? ›

Top 25 Happiest Colleges
  • Princeton University.
  • Brown University.
  • Vanderbilt University.
  • College of William and Mary.
  • Kansas State University.
  • University of Iowa.
  • Fairfield University.
  • University of California, Berkeley.
28 Aug 2022

What state is #1 for education? ›

Education Rankings
RankStatePre-K-12
1New Jersey New Jersey1
2Massachusetts Massachusetts2
3Florida Florida16
4Washington Washington11
48 more rows

What is the easiest state college to get into? ›

Colleges with 100% Acceptance Rates
  • South Florida State College (Avon Park, Florida)
  • St. ...
  • Thomas More College of Liberal Arts (Merrimack, New Hampshire)
  • University of Texas- El Paso (El Paso, Texas)
  • Utah Valley University (Orem, Utah)
  • Wayne State College (Wayne, Nebraska)
  • Wilmington University (New Castle, Delaware)
7 Sept 2022

Videos

1. Emporia State University is facing cuts
(KSNT News)
2. ESU suspending academic programs after staff cuts
(KSNT News)
3. Emporia State University
(YTV CO | YOuniversityTV, Spokai)
4. Emporia State preparing to present small majors review to Board of Regents
(KSNT News)
5. Emporia State University New Grad Student Orientation: Tuition & Fees
(Kerri Jackson)
6. Focus year 1 (2020-2021) - Emporia State University
(A Blum)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Catherine Tremblay

Last Updated: 12/17/2022

Views: 6075

Rating: 4.7 / 5 (67 voted)

Reviews: 82% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Catherine Tremblay

Birthday: 1999-09-23

Address: Suite 461 73643 Sherril Loaf, Dickinsonland, AZ 47941-2379

Phone: +2678139151039

Job: International Administration Supervisor

Hobby: Dowsing, Snowboarding, Rowing, Beekeeping, Calligraphy, Shooting, Air sports

Introduction: My name is Catherine Tremblay, I am a precious, perfect, tasty, enthusiastic, inexpensive, vast, kind person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.